Perceiving infinity and imagining what it might be like has always been one of the central aspects of art. Our life is marked by a sense of finiteness – a feeling that everything we perceive will one day cease to exist.

But if finiteness is the only absolute truth in life, how can we envisage structures and patterns that repeat themselves in an unimaginable horizon? How can we frame imaginary realities that represent something that extends beyond our perception of life and linear time?

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019“Infinite Space” at the Volvo Art Session

Infinite Space is the first major retrospective by the award-winning Turkish artist Refik Anadol. It invites visitors to open themselves and their senses up to the infinite transformation and endless possibilities that lie at the interfaces between man and machine.

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019
William Blake, one of the most important English artists of the eighteenth century, said: “If the doors of perception were cleansed, everything would appear to man as it is – infinite.” Infinite Space is a collection of works that critically acknowledges Blake’s statement and strives to cleanse the doors of human perception with the tools that artists of the 21st century have at their disposal.

The exhibition explores memories and dreams in the mind of a machine by using datasets of human memories, photographs of Mars, cultural archives and sea surface activity as data sculptures and digital paintings.

Two exhibits from “Infinite Space” can be seen this year’s Volvo Art Session:

MELTING MEMORIES

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019
Melting Memories is a data sculpture that examines the materiality of remembering by offering new insights into the representation opportunities that arise from the interface between progressive technology and contemporary art.

INFINITY ROOM

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019
The Infinity Room is a fascinating experience that seeks to capture the nature of infinity. This work creates lights, sounds and projections in order to represent boundlessness, and attempts to deconstruct the framework of this illusory space and go beyond the normal bounds of visual experience.

Die Unendlichkeit wahrzunehmen oder sie sich vorzustellen, war schon immer eine der zentralen Punkte der Kunst. Unser Leben ist von einem Gefühl der Endlichkeit geprägt: dem Gefühl, dass alles, was wir wahrnehmen, eines Tages aufhören wird zu existieren.

Aber wenn die Endlichkeit die einzige absolute Wahrheit im Leben ist, wie können wir uns Strukturen und Muster vorstellen, die sich in einem unvorstellbaren Horizont wiederholen? Wie rahmen wir imaginäre Realitäten ein, die etwas darstellen, das über unsere Wahrnehmung des Lebens und der linearen Zeit hinausgeht?

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019“Infinite Space” an der Volvo Art Session

Infinite Space ist die erste grosse Retrospektive des preisgekrönten, in der Türkei geborenen Künstlers Refik Anadol. Sie lädt die Besucher ein, sich und ihre Sinne für die unendliche Transformation und die endlosen Möglichkeiten an den Schnittstellen von Mensch und Maschine zu öffnen.

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019

Einer der größten englischen Künstler des achtzehnten Jahrhunderts, William Blake, sagte: “Wenn die Türen der Wahrnehmung gereinigt würden, würde alles dem Menschen so erscheinen, wie es ist – unendlich.” Infinite Space ist eine Sammlung von Werken, die Blakes Aussage kritisch würdigt und danach strebt, die Pforten der menschlischen Wahrnehmung mit den Werkzeugen, die Künstlern des 21. Jahrhunderts zur Verfügung stehen, zu reinigen.

Die Ausstellung erforscht Erinnerungen und Träume im Kopf einer Maschine, indem sie Datensätze aus menschlichen Erinnerungen, Fotografien des Mars, Kulturarchiven und Meeresoberflächenaktivitäten als Datenskulpturen und digitale Gemälde verwendet.

Zwei Exponate aus der “Infinite Space” sind dieses Jahr an der Volvo Art Session zu sehen:

MELTING MEMORIES

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019

Melting Memories ist eine Datenskulptur, die die Materialität des Erinnerns erforscht, indem sie neue Einblicke in die Repräsentationsmöglichkeiten bietet, die sich aus der Schnittstelle von fortschrittlicher Technologie und zeitgenössischer Kunst ergeben.

INFINITY ROOM

Refik Anadol Volvo Art Session 2019

Der Infinitiy Room ist eine faszinierende Erfahrung, die die Natur der Unendlichkeit einfangen möchte. Dieses Werk erzeugt Lichter, Töne und Projektionen, um das Grenzenlose darzustellen. Und versucht, den Rahmen dieses illusorischen Raums zu dekonstruieren und die normalen Grenzen des Seherlebnisses zu überschreiten.